Colour of the Moment – Redcurrant Red

I promise this blog really is going to be about colour… but I may as well warn you now that food will feature prominently!

The glossy transparency of the redcurrant is something to behold. Glistening, saturated crimson that leans towards orange just enough to bring a real zing to its chroma. As part of my ongoing food spectrum or perhaps I can steal my friend Alex’s term ‘Edible Spectrum’ (more on his project another time) I made this the other day…. a redcurrant, plum tarte tartin infused with white lavender… it’s all about the colour….. I can’t help thinking thats what draws us to food just as much as smell and taste.

About Ptolemy Mann

Ptolemy Mann is an artist and colour consultant.
This entry was posted in Chroma, Colour, cooking, Food Spectrum and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment