Couch cushion colour surfing…

I’ve never been that interested in cushions in the past. If you had told me five years ago that I would be designing cushions for John Lewis and The New Craftsmen I would have been astounded… not for any reason other than I’ve never particularly liked them before. Now I find myself treating my couch and bed at home as ever-changing-geometric-colour-sketch-books. A visual playground shifting in hue and form depending on my mood. At the moment I’ve got a thing about triangles…not sure why but I’m drawn to them. When I look at my couch right now I see the interplay between line, triangle, star and orb and despite the odds it seems to work together. They in turn remind me of the three Herbert Bayer prints I have hanging on the adjacent wall. In fact the whole corner of the room is a cacophony of strong geometric shape; while sitting on the geometric cushions you can look at the geometric prints and savour the joys of…… well….. geometry.

(I think triangles are the next big thing for 2013)

 

20130308-162117.jpg

 

One Reversed 1969 by Herbert Bayer 1900-1985

 

Four Yellow Corners 1969 by Herbert Bayer 1900-1985

 

Building a House 1969 by Herbert Bayer 1900-1985

 

About Ptolemy Mann

Ptolemy Mann is a textile artist, designer and architectural colour consultant
This entry was posted in Art, Chroma, Colour, Design, Furnishing fabrics, Ikat, Ikat Collection, Textiles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

