The Shard….

As the rain slides down the windows of the studio I think back to a few weeks ago and the clear blue skies that framed The Shard building in London Bridge as I walked past. Seems an appropriate time of year to celebrate the glass shard that has been steadily growing to its steely point over the last year in SE1. A crisp silver-grey spear cutting through the clouds; there is something quite magnificent about its geometry and simplicity. A smooth, shear glass skin makes up its surface. I do feel some optimism standing underneath it, like it’s cutting through the past year and clearing some space for future endeavours. A shard of blue light to give us something to look forward to….

About Ptolemy Mann

Ptolemy Mann is a textile artist, designer and architectural colour consultant
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Chromatic Landscape, Colour and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Shard….

  1. I saw it suddenly in clear relief a couple of days ago when i was driving from Muswell Hill to Archway – I only ever drive at Christmas and I’d never noticed it on the skyline all the millions of times I’d done that route on the bus! It sure is a beautiful building but I’ve never seen it close up. Perhaps I will make a pilgrimage…

Leave a Reply

