Photographs of THE ARCHITECTURE OF CLOTH, COLOUR AND SPACE

After such a long period of preparation and anticipation my exhibition finally opened on Friday evening. We gathered in the beautiful market town of Ruthin in North Wales, put our colours on and walked down the hill. I realise that after several days of looking so closely at the details of the show I found it almost impossible to have any real sense whether it was a ‘successful’ installation or not…however my wonderful gang of friends assured me it was indeed successful. Yipeeeeee….

The following day I gave a talk in the gallery to about 60 people and it was the first time I had done a talk in-the-round so to speak. Like a strange sort of solo performance which involved going into some detail about the various processes and pieces on display.

I now feel like a certain hurdle has been jumped, in a good way, which can make way for another 16 years of new work and exciting collaborations. The list of people to thank for their help and support is endless…so for now, for here; I shall just say that you know who you are!

The show is up untill the 15th January 2012…so please do go and have a look if you find yourself passing near by.

About Ptolemy Mann

Ptolemy Mann is a textile artist, designer and architectural colour consultant
This entry was posted in Art, Colour, Exhibitions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Photographs of THE ARCHITECTURE OF CLOTH, COLOUR AND SPACE

  1. Glorious! I don’t think I’ll ever forget the moment of impact when I walked into the gallery. A whole room full of your wonderful work. It was just wonderful. Magnificent exhibition and it was such a treat to be there with you. Wishing you every success with the exhibition and good luck with the talks tomorrow! xx

  2. PS – love the phrase “we put our colours on” to describe getting dolled up – even though I was in black! Jx

  3. Just visited the exhibition – your friends are right it is fantastic! Have been a fan of your work for a while (thanks to the wonders of the world wide web) but never had the chance to see it in person, so I couldn’t believe it when I saw you were exhibiting in Ruthin – even the husband was blown away by it – Sure it will be a huge success!

  4. Lizzi Walton says:

    It looks absolutely amazing. Well done. A wonderful space to exhibit. Looking forward to transforming Gloucester Cathedral in October 2012.
    Stroud International Textiles Lizzi

  5. nickblack says:

    Oh to be in Ruthin, now that Ptolemy is there.

  6. The pictures look beautiful Ptolemy!
    I wish you every success!

    Mx

  7. Pingback: Interiors UK 2012 | Alison Yule Textiles

Leave a Reply

