Anne Truitt – “Alive Silence”

Following my previous post about Anne Truitt I am pleased to say I am on my way to London where there is an exhibition of her work at the Stephen Friedman Gallery on Old Burlington street untill the 19th November. 

http://www.stephenfriedman.com

She continues to amaze me with her insight:

“When I had been working in art for some ten years, I began to notice that I felt as if I were doing what was “right” when I felt fractionally distanced from what I was making. I began to experience a kind of alive silence – I cannot say it more clearly – that was new to me. I was surprised. I felt there a subtle balance that had a neutrality dissociated from the passion that I had always thought must necessarily inform art. But by then I had developed respect for my instincts.”

Quote from ‘Prospect – The Journey of an Artist’ by Anne Truitt, Penguin 1996

http://annetruitt.org

 

About Ptolemy Mann

Ptolemy Mann is a textile artist, designer and architectural colour consultant
This entry was posted in Art, Chroma, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

