Accidental Colour…

This is the first post of a new idea I have been interested in exploring for some time about ACCIDENTAL COLOUR. The more fearless and experimental I have become about colour in my own work the more intrigued I am about how colour can be used in an unconscious and intuitive way and also how colour can be accidental. Not quite the same as ‘found colour’ but a way of allowing colour combinations to form unconsciously. Sometimes when time allows I deliberately go into the dye lab without having a plan and I allow the colour to emerge of its own accord. This may sound like I am channeling some kind of parallel colour ‘spirit’… and perhaps I am in some ways, but I think it’s more about allowing the accidental to be final.

The nature of weaving rarely allows the accidental to happen, there is too much time at stake, too many hours invested to risk an unsuccessful outcome. In recent years I have been trying to defy this fear and let the colour speak for itself. It seems we live in a time when we have lost faith in our own abilities to make judgements about how colours should work together, we need someone to tell us what works and what doesn’t.  I have come to the (controversial) conclusion that there is no such thing as a ‘bad’ colour combination, just a certain viewpoint from which we each see and judge the interaction of specific colours. What doesn’t for us works for someone else. What is essential is that colours are put together with conviction and style. If you can do this then you can do anything  with colour and break all the rules.

My intention is to capture examples of ‘accidental colour’ in various shapes and forms. I’m starting with some pictures I took a few weeks ago when a good friend of mine, Sally White, who runs the Design Museum Cafe http://designmuseum.org/visit-us made a Mexican lunch.

Pure accidental colour…

 

  

 

 

About Ptolemy Mann

Ptolemy Mann is a textile artist, designer and architectural colour consultant
This entry was posted in Accidental Colour, Chroma, Colour, cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

