Colour of the Moment – Duck egg blue and green

There is a delicate little moment when you lift up the lid of a box of eggs and peek inside. Imagine my joy when I opened up a box of local eggs and found these beautiful gems. The softest palest green and blue one can imagine. I’ve never been a great fan of pastel colours but looking at these brings a real sense of awe and excitement to my morning. Amazing how something can be so hard and soft at the same time; the softest chroma of blue etched onto a crisp satin surface. There is something deeply cool about these… although blue and green they have a glowing sense of flushed heat about them. I love the way they are both on the edge of their spectrums…blue in some light, citrine in another even a kind of creamy chartreuse. I am fascinated by colours on the edge and in between…. delectable. 

About Ptolemy Mann

Ptolemy Mann is a textile artist, designer and architectural colour consultant
This entry was posted in Chroma, Colour, cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Colour of the Moment – Duck egg blue and green

  1. Janet says:

    Love the poetry of the discription of your pastel eggs
    They are beautiful and your words made the enjoyment of the
    colours even greater.

  2. Oh how lovely! There is a type of egg that has a blue shell that I always buy when I spot it – can’t remember the name of it but it is something poetic like Foghorn Leghorn Eggs…! I love seeing eggs all complete in their shells in egg boxes. Took me years to catch on to the idea of checking that none were broken before I bought them…

Leave a Reply

